Home About Us

MD4SG '20

4th Workshop on Mechanism Design for Social Good

Call for Participation

The 4th Workshop on Mechanism Design for Social Good (MD4SG ’20) will take place virtually on 17-18 August 2020.

The goal of the workshop is to highlight work where techniques from algorithms, optimization, and mechanism design, along with insights from other disciplines, have the potential to improve access to opportunity for historically underserved and marginalized communities. The workshop will feature keynote presentations, contributed talks, and a virtual poster session on work at this research interface. The event aims to facilitate interactions between academia, policy, and industry with a focus on bridging research and policy; to this end, there will also be presentations of problem pitches and demonstrations as well as networking and discussion opportunities.

We solicit submissions of research papers, position and policy papers, as well as special problem- and practice-driven submissions, to be presented at the workshop. The deadline for submissions is Wednesday, July 1.

We encourage submissions from across various disciplines covering domains including bias and discrimination, civic participation, computational sustainability, developing nations, economic inequality, education, healthcare, housing, labor markets, and privacy and security. Submissions can be research papers introducing new theory or applications. We also strongly encourage submissions of position papers synthesizing existing work and perspectives or highlighting future directions, as well as problem pitches and demonstration submissions that are particularly aligned with policy or practice. Submissions will fall into one of four tracks: The last track is for special submissions such as problem pitches or demonstrations. We especially encourage individuals from government and policy, as well as individuals in non-government organizations and industry, to submit to this track. For all submissions, topics of interest include but are not limited to:

Submission Specifications:

Submissions will be evaluated on the following criteria:


Submission Instructions:

Authors should upload a PDF of their paper to EasyChair. There are no specific formatting instructions or length requirements. In addition to the PDF, authors are asked to upload a separate abstract and a 200-250 word description onto EasyChair summarizing their submission and its relevance to the workshop’s theme. Authors do not need to be the first author of the submitted work. Authors should list all co-authors on the presented work both in the PDF of the submission as well as on EasyChair.

Authors may submit papers that are working papers, papers that have already been published, or are under review. If the work is already published, please include a citation on EasyChair.

There will be no published proceedings. All submissions will be peer-reviewed by at least 2 reviewers. The committee reserves the right not to review all the technical details of submissions. Submissions are single-blind (i.e., authors should include their name and affiliation in the paper).

Important Information:


Organizing Committee:

Program Chairs:

  • Francisco J. Marmolejo Cossio, University of Oxford
  • Faidra Monachou, Stanford University
  • Steering Committee:

  • Rediet Abebe, Harvard University
  • Kira Goldner, Columbia University
  • Jon Kleinberg, Cornell University
  • Illenin Kondo, University of Notre-Dame
  • Sera Linardi, University of Pittsburgh
  • Irene Lo, Stanford University
  • Ana-Andreea Stoica, Columbia University
  • Area Chairs

  • Theory: Daniel Freund, MIT Sloan; Sam Taggart, Oberlin College; Matt Weinberg, Princeton University
  • Empirical Studies and Policy: Zoe B. Cullen, Harvard Business School; Robert Manduca, University of Michigan
  • AI and ML: Dina Machuve, Nelson Mandela African Institution of Science and Technology; Ana-Andreea Stoica, Columbia University; Bryan Wilder, Harvard University
  • Problems and Demos: Araba Sey, United Nations University
  • Program Committee

  • Itai Ashlagi, Stanford University
  • Hamsa Bastani, Wharton School - University of Pennsylvania
  • Michael Carlos Best, Columbia University
  • Michael Best, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Elettra Bietti, Harvard Law School
  • Abeba Birhane, University College Dublin
  • Peter Blair, Harvard University
  • Mark Braverman, Princeton University
  • Sydnee Caldwell, UC Berkeley
  • Augustin Chaintreau, Columbia University
  • Jose R. Correa, Universidad de Chile
  • Lenore Cowen, Tufts University
  • Krishna Dasaratha, Harvard University
  • Bikramaditya Datta, Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur
  • Jonathan Davis, University of Oregon
  • Maria De-Arteaga, University of Texas at Austin
  • Joann de Zegher, MIT Sloan
  • John P. Dickerson, University of Maryland
  • Edith Elkind, University of Oxford
  • Meryem Essaidi, Princeton University
  • Elizabeth Evans, Cayena Capital Management, LLC
  • Elena Falcettoni, Federal Reserve Board of Governors
  • Jessie Finnochiaro, University of Colorado Boulder
  • Felix Fischer, Queen Mary University of London
  • Rupert Freeman, Microsoft Research
  • Jiarui Gan, University of Oxford
  • Nikhil Garg, Stanford University
  • Joel Goh, NUS Business School
  • Michelle Gonzalez Amador, United Nations University
  • Abhishek Gupta, Microsoft and Montreal AI Ethics Institute
  • Yoan Hermstrüwer, Max Planck Institute for Research on Collective Goods
  • Marc Juarez, University of Southern California
  • Anson Kahng, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Adam Kapor, Princeton University
  • Maximilian Kasy, University of Oxford
  • Matthew Kenney, Duke University
  • Lynn Kirabo, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Sara Kingsley, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Karen Levy, Cornell University
  • Wanyi Li, Stanford University
  • Edwin Lock, University of Oxford
  • Vahideh Manshadi, Yale University
  • Nicholas Mattei, Tulane University
  • Duncan McElfresh, University of Maryland
  • Jasmin McNealy, University of Florida
  • Teddy Mekonnen, Brown University
  • Eric Mibuari, Harvard University
  • Ken Moon, University of Pennsylvania - Wharton
  • Nyalleng Moorosi, Google AI South Africa
  • Zanele Munyikwa, MIT Sloan
  • George Obaido, University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg
  • Chinasa Okolo, Cornell University
  • Roya Pakzad, Taraaz
  • Bobby Pakzad-Hurson, Brown University
  • Lucy Qin, Brown University
  • Manish Raghavan, Cornell University
  • Evan Riehl, Cornell University
  • Sarah Riley, Cornell University
  • David Robinson, Upturn
  • Daniela Saban, Stanford University
  • Zhaowei She, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Eric Sodomka, Facebook Research
  • Nicolas Stier, Facebook Research
  • Inbal Talgam-Cohen, Technion - Israel Institute of Technology
  • Alex Teytelboym, University of Oxford
  • Neil Thakral, Brown University
  • Winnie van Dijk, University of Chicago
  • Daniel Waldinger, New York University
  • Yixin Wang, Columbia University
  • Anne Washington, New York University
  • Lily Xu, Harvard University
  • Angela Zhou, Cornell University